Pity

It’s a shame I’m not black, otherwise white middle class ladies and gents could project their guilt on me too.
But I don’t deserve their pity.
I’m white. Educated. Sort of middle-classish looking. Whatever that means.
So I’m subjected to prejudice and ruthless ignorance by middle class whites, working class whites. Well, working class people often have kindness that compensates for their ignorance. And black people don’t really care. I don’t feel pity for them and I see them as equals. It automatically creates a different dynamic Westerners could never understand.
These people don’t know what poverty is. These people don’t know what exile is. These people don’t know what social injustice is. Most importantly, these people don’t know that nobody needs their pity. Pity automatically assumes inequality. The pitying party has the PRIVILEGE to never understand this particular point.

Leave a Reply

